Aivars Smaukstelis with second straight win at MLO SCL Serbia

July 5, 2016
Aivars Smaukstelis with second straight win at MLO SCL Serbia

On July 2nd, SCL train stopped in Zlatibor, deep in the mountains of Serbia, for stage 6 of the Strongman Champions League (SCL).

“The crowd was really great there, enthusiastic until the very end, and the Latvian strongman Aivars Smaukstellis took the title - proving again again that he is very strong, as he just finished in the deadlift 350 kg for reps, with 8 reps, which was just 2 less than Martin (aka The Deadlift Kid) Wildauer,” said for IronMind, SCL director Marcel Mostert.

Martin Wildauer got second place overall, and Matjaz Belsak took the third place, overall. The Icelander Stefan Solvi Petursson showed his power by winning the framewalk, 340 kg over 40 meters in 20.67 seconds, and took fourth overall.

Besides this great show and strong performance from all the athletes, the Strongman Champions League also launched its new sponsor, MLO Nutrition.

“MLO Nutrition is a supplement company that has combined the best from all sports in different lines. “MLO International LLC has decades of experience in the field of health and sports nutrition and modes of training and competition preparation in the areas of fitness, bodybuilding, powerlifting, strongmen, competitive weightlifting and athletics. Therefore SCL will be named as the MLO Strongman Champions League, and we hope it will be a long and good marriage with our new head sponsor!

After SCL Matjaz Belsak is now leading the MLO Strongman Champions League current standings, followed by Dainis Zageris, J-F Caron and Krzysztof Radzikowski.

Stage 7 of the tour is SCL BULGARIA in Plovdiv at 23/24 July, so stay tuned here for the results and more news.

SCL Serbia Results:


  1. Alvars Smaukstellis Latvia 55 points
  2. Martin Wildauer Austria 50.5
  3. Matjaz Belsak Slovenia 49
  4. Stefan Petursson Iceland 46.5
  5. Jitse Kramer Holland 42
  6. Andreas Altmann Germany 38.5
  7. Lauri Nami Estonia 35
  8. Vladimir Comorescu Romania 25.5
  9. Vladimir Bulatovic Serbia 23.5
  10. Marco Guidi Italy 10
  11. Bedo Hachikian Bulgaria 5